Do You Believe That Everything Happens For A Reason?

Post Ninety-Three.

I told you this would happen. Start a micro-blog with philosophy questions, fade them out, bring them back, and then there’s a flood of them. I think it’s philosophy. Or religion. Or something else. I don’t know, it’s late, I’m tired and I really cannot think straight. Or is it strait? Sorry, I’ve been watching The Bridge and I can’t get strait out of my head. Even though it’s not a strait and it’s never mentioned once. Hah. I’ve officially gone nuts. Right in time for my 100th.

Erm, well, I can’t really answer this without upsetting someone. That’s always the problem with the philosophical questions. I suppose one is entitled to their beliefs. If you want to believe that things happen for a reason, fine. If you don’t, fine. Like everything in life, there’s just as much evidence supporting one side of the coin as there is supporting the other. And by that, I mean that we can’t conclusively prove anything. Proof is a null word. How do we know what’s real? We can’t. We just live life on a wave of crusty disappointment and the occasional spread of sunshine.

Me? Well, I don’t know. Maybe it does, maybe it doesn’t. I think we think too much about life. Too much about where we came from and where we are going. Too much about fate and destiny. We only live life once, why bother to live it wondering why we’re living it? Personally, I don’t care if everything happens for a reason. My belief is that it simply doesn’t matter.

But that’s just me. What about you, readers? Do you believe everything happens for a reason?

Caio :)(:

(I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. To do so, you can leave a comment by pressing the bubble on the top right of this post and scroll to the bottom of the new page you’re taken to. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks).

4 thoughts on “Do You Believe That Everything Happens For A Reason?

  1. brownbecca17

    I’ve thought about this question a lot actually, and to this day, I still don’t really know what I think about it. There is a part of me that wants to believe things happen for a reason. I think it mostly has to do with the fact that it gives you a little bit of positiveness about the sh*tty things that have happened in your life.

    People want to be reassured that when there are times that are bad, something good will come of it. I don’t find anything wrong with that, but some days I just can’t imagine why some of the things that happen could be for a reason; good or bad. It just doesn’t really make sense to me and it’s not something that any of us will ever figure out for sure.

    I agree with your last comment about it not mattering if things happen for a reason but again, it just makes people feel a bit better when they feel that something better might come out of it. We really do worry about life too much but it’s nice to have things you believe in especially when you are having a sh*tty day, week, year, whatever.

    I honestly think that is the reason people put this question into their heads. When something happens, everyone wants to know why and sometimes there isn’t an explanation but people can’t take that as an answer, so they turn to something that somewhat gives them that reasoning.

    Maybe I’m the only one that thinks this way, but that is how I am feeling about it at this moment.

    Reply
    1. theindeliblelifeofme Post author

      I think belief is there as a source of comfort, a sheath to wrap around your soul in times of need or when you need some encouragement or strength in your life. I think people who think things happen for a reason are using that belief as a source of strength.

      When it comes down to it, the crap that one endures in life I think makes people stronger, makes them learn from their mistakes. I don’t class that as something that happened for a reason. It didn’t happen to make you stronger, it happened because you screwed up. Saying that it happened for a reason is purely a coping mechanism. And that’s fine. If that’s how someone copes with something, their solace, that’s wonderful. They’re trying to be positive, and the world needs more people like that. I don’t think that way, but I understand why people would.

      You’re certainly not alone in how you think.

      Great comment. Very interesting perspective.

      Reply
  2. nevesays

    Sometimes it’s a yes, sometimes it’s a no. When bad things happen to me, yeah, that’s when I say “everything happens for a reason”. Probably to console me somehow.

    Reply
    1. theindeliblelifeofme Post author

      I suppose the lessons you learn from bad experiences could be construed as ‘reasons’ for them happening. It’s a way to cope with the bad things in life. Others find other ways to cope. I simply take a step back, take a deep breath and don’t let it get to me. Tomorrow is another day. That sort of attitude. Everyone deals with negativity differently.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

