Are You A Good Driver?

Post 111

How kind of you to ask. Are you trying to work out if you should avoid me on the road, because I can categorically say this: yes, you totally should.

I learnt to drive quite a while ago. Wasn’t very good at it, but my instructor was insistent that he’d seen worse. He said my main problem was that I ‘drove too much like someone with a licence’. I still can’t work out if that was an insult.

Oh, it was every little thing. Not checking mirrors. Which nobody does, anyway. Not indicating. Like that’s a hazard. Speeding. Mounting kerbs. I could go on, and on, but I shan’t. I think the impression you are all getting is – not great, should we say. In a straight line, I was brilliant. It’s just a straight line. It wasn’t a worry. Except when I hit a guardrail at 75 miles per hour. That’s when a tiny bit of sweat started to pour down my face.

Remarkable as it may seem, I passed first time. With only 45 lessons in the bag. Apparently, that’s average. At least that’s what I tell myself. I remember the day. “You’ve passed!” “Seriously?” I retorted. I actually said that. In a tone akin to exasperated faded enthusiasm.

So, personally, I don’t think I’m all that bad a driver. Others may disagree. That guardrail certainly does. Thank God I don’t have a car.

Ciao :)(:

Notice: This blog look and content has been revised and reworked slightly. Different layouts and colour schemes – minor changes I hope you’ll like. Changes apply to almost every page, so maybe you could check it out if you’re not busy. Minor changes to third site, too (please visit!).

(I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. To do so, you can leave a comment by pressing the bubble on the top right of this post and scroll to the bottom of the new page to where it says ‘leave a reply’. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks)

2 comments

  1. I passed second time, after the auto windscreen wipers came on and I couldn’t switch them off. I tried everything, even squirted the windscreen wash up the window. I was so embarrassed. It made it worse when the examiner went “it might rain on your test.” I wanted the ground to swallow me up. So I would say you should probs avoid me on the road too. I enjoyed your post :)

    • I hated the windscreen wipers. The worst time was when I was going down a narrow winding lane in a forest with high concrete barriers on either side. I was going at about 60 miles-per-hour when it started to snow heavily and I couldn’t work out how to get the wipers on. Nightmare from hell. Glad you liked the post!

Leave a Reply

