Have You Ever Played Cricket?

Post 124

Often in life the word ‘desperate’, often used in conjunction with the word ‘getting’, springs to mind. It did when I written that question down. Still, Post 124, and I haven’t covered this wretched sport.

Cricket, for those of you who don’t know, is a bat-and-ball game played with eleven players. There’s a bit in the middle of circle patch of grass. 22 yards long, apparently. Then the game gets a little blurry. There are more rules than you can shake a bat at. Literally. But they’re not set – oh, no. If one rule comes into effect, then most of the other rules change. But that applies to all the sodding rules! The points – oh God, they make even less sense than tennis! Different rules, different points, blah, blah, blah. I haven’t even mentioned yet the dude in the background waving his hands about and hopping on his feet have a merry old jig. What the heck is going on! It’s like an acid trip. It’s easily my least favourite game. The things I would rather do than watch, let alone play cricket, include shaving my lovely long hair off. Being mauled by an angry cobbler. Things like that.

I was forced to play cricket in secondary school. I say forced because I was threatened with suspension if I didn’t join in. I didn’t enjoy it. I think I only I smiled only once during that abject misery. The game started normally. A player hit the ball. The other players, me included, were in a line next to the batter. Let me stress, cricket balls are extremely heavy. It was a lesson a dude standing next to me learnt the hard way. That flying cricket ball hit, and this is 100% true, a very special area of his. I was in tears. Come to think of it, so was he.

So yes, I’ve been forced to play cricket, but I hate it so very, very much.

I’d like to tack on to this post a big thank you to all the people who’ve visited this micro-blog. It’s just gone over the 1,000 views mark, which is fantastic and really means a lot. Thank you all so very much.

Ciao :)(:

(I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. To do so, you can leave a comment by pressing the bubble on the top right of this post and scroll to the bottom of the new page to where it says ‘leave a reply’. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks)

Leave a Reply

