Have You Ever Received Flowers?

Post 131

What of it, dudes? What’s wrong with received? Other than the fact it’s a case of E before I. Look, here’s the story. I reworded that question more than enough times, and each time it sounded a little bit weirder. Weirder. Yet another word with E before I. It’s mow the sheep all over again. What is the correct word? Get flowers? Been given? Been given sounds like you didn’t want them, and that’s fantastic, because it’s completely true.

I’ve never ‘received’ flowers, before. I don’t get flower giving. I can’t imagine that I’d be overly delighted with some flowers. I’d imagine I’d ask for the receipt (another E before I) and take them back. What am I going to do with flowers? If you’re grateful for something, you thank them with conditional gifts. That is to say, gifts that suit the receiver. Now, if somebody likes flowers, I’d give them flowers. If they hated them, perhaps a pat on the back. Or a hug. But I don’t give hugs. Or get them, come to think of it.

It’s the thought that counts. But flowers? The flower giver clearly put no thought into flowers. Perhaps people know me enough to know flowers aren’t my métier. They are appreciated, and I love the idea, but flowers? Oh, jeez.

So no, I’ve never received flowers.

Have you ever received flowers, readers?

Ciao :)(:

(I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. To do so, you can leave a comment by pressing the bubble on the top right of this post and scroll to the bottom of the new page to where it says ‘leave a reply’. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks)

2 responses to “Have You Ever Received Flowers?”

  1. thenotoriouslex Avatar

    I’m a girl, of course I’ve received flowers, usually as a guilt gift. “I screwed up, I’m sorry (I’m not, but I’m not going to tell you that), here, have some flowers.” I suppose it’s better than the make-up sex men think solves every relationship problem. Even garage forecourt flowers are better than that.

    Like

    1. theindeliblelifeofme Avatar

      Well… if anything, the sex should come as a reward for good behaviour in a relationship, not as a sticking plaster for the foibles.

      It’s a good incentive, if anything…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

I’m Ally.

Welcome! This is To Contrive & Jive,  a place where I ponder random questions and baffling mysteries. Come with me as we mull over the universe and learn that nothing is quite what it seems.


Don’t Miss a Post!


Archives


Stats

  • 12 Years, 5 Months Old
  • 562 Followers
  • 129,276 Views
  • 1,918 Posts
  • New Posts Sun, Tue & Thu (breaks Apr 4th, 18th & 30th)

The Indelible Life of Me

Click here to visit my first blog all about the colourful tedium of nothingness!


Stories of Her

Click here to visit my third blog all about great women!


Search


Latest Comments

  1. why did batman and the grand jury judge need to put supes in the phantom zone at alk? I thought…

Web Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter