Do You Have Any Family Heirlooms?

Post 140

It’s suddenly dawned on me that my answer for many of these questions is ‘no’. I often wonder if people tune in with the hope that the question will harbour a really interesting story. Or maybe because they aren’t quite familiar with blogs that shoot themselves in the foot in the first sentence. Do I have any family heirlooms? Nope. See?

Heirlooms (one of hundreds of words with E before I), are items passed down through the generations in a will as an inheritance. It’s also something that has been in a family for generations. The question is not clear on which meaning it’s talking about. I hate questions like that. No one’s ever left anything to me in a will. And I’ve never been given anything by a family member that belonged to them. I think that only happens in Hollywood. However, I do have items from the past. A larvaheirloom. That’s an heirloom from a relative that you ended up with rather than given like a traditional heirloom.

I suppose I can’t count that clock that belonged to my brother. Because I actually stole it. However, I do have wood. Very old, Indian wood. When my granddad was serving in India, he was given it in the form of a hairbrush. It’s been worked on, kept looking nice, and it’s been re-bristled several times. It doesn’t look like it’s from the ‘30s, but I still use it (why not), and treasure it very much. Largely because I never met my granddad or indeed any of my grandparents. It’s a part of him, the man I never knew.

Sorry, that was interesting. Also interesting to note is that I made ‘larvaheirloom’ up. The Latin for ghost tacked onto heirloom. I hope you use it. I’m determined to get a word in the dictionary, even if it’s the only thing I ever do.

The Friday Bonus Question

Plucked from the basement of the internet, a bewildering question that defies logic and an answer, here for you to ponder.

Does looking at a picture of the Sun harm one’s eyes?

Ciao :)(:

(I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. To do so, you can leave a comment by pressing the bubble on the top right of this post and scroll to the bottom of the new page to where it says ‘leave a reply’. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks)

Leave a Reply

