What Is Your Number One Bad Habit?

Post 170

Murdering people. Kidding…

Why are habits bad? Who decides what makes a habit ‘bad’? Where are this ‘habit police’? They are probably confused by their title and are hiding away in warrens. Pause for laughter. Nobody gets the joke. Moving on.

I don’t think it’s fair to label habits as right or wrong. When it comes down to it, it’s often a good thing, a de-stresser from my daily grind of – not working. Stressed out about the little things in life? Good for you. It prevents long-term stress, which is the only stress that causes bodily problems. Exercise only once a week? Better than every day – your body needs rest. Gossiping? Good for bonding and hormones. Fidgeting? Good exercise, apparently. Swearing? Pain relief. Skipping a shower? Helps rejuvenate skin. Careful and regulated sunbathing? Boosts vitamin D. Having a lie-in? Good for preventing stress and improves memory. Daydreaming? Improves brain functions, especially problem solving.

I’m fully aware of the really bad habits, but I’d rather label them as addictions. Habits, on the other hand, make us who we are; they are a part of our DNA. And for me, that’s biting my fingernails. It’s technically good for you – it gets calcium into your body. But there’s no other body part we eat to do that. Eat hair for protein. Eat bogies for a super gross-out. Eat earwax because you’re a maniac. I know I shouldn’t bite my nails, and I could stop. But it helps me calm my nerves and to concentrate. I aint stopping.

I really could stop. I did once. What you do is put an elastic band around your wrist, and every time you bite your nails, you pull the band back and release it. Hurts like hell, but your brain learns to associate biting your nails with pain and it genuinely works. Try it.

I’m not going to. But you can.

The Friday Bonus Question

Plucked from the basement of the internet, a bewildering real question that defies logic and an answer, here for you to ponder:

I threw a brick at myself. Can anyone help?

Ciao :)(:

(I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post by clicking here and scrolling down to the bottom of the page. Feel free to check out my main and third blogs. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks)

Leave a Reply

