What Is Your Favourite Made Up Word?

Post 176

Aha, invented words. My métier. As I trust you all know. Because my third blog is a words blog. And a ridiculous amount of work goes into that third blog. In particular, the occasional showcasing of invented words. There’s just something about them that fills me with a puerile joy. The things the human mind can conjure never fail to astonish me.

Over the years, I’ve collected hundreds of these. Below are some of my favourites.

There’s fuffle, baldage, trantlemore, tidnab, glibido, sark, shoefly, brimplet, amersham, inkslick, furbling, foys, floles, cranleigh, greelite, telecrastination, keyfruit, fictate, phonesia, gyroped, flarpswitch and ellacelleration.

Honourable mentions must go to the following:

Carperpetuation – the act, when vacuuming, of running over an object a dozen times, picking it up, examining it, then putting it back down to give the vacuum one more chance. Phosflink – the act of flicking a light switch on and off when a light bulb has burned itself out, in a vain hope that the bulb will somehow come back to life. And phistel – the brake pedal on a passenger side of a vehicle (usually a car), that the passenger wishes existed when the driver is driving like a lunatic.

My favourite word, though, is a word that I think sums up life. No matter how hard you try, things will always go wrong. This word describes something I can see happening on a Monday morning after your alarm has failed to go off, your toast has burnt and you find yourself arriving at work two hours late. The word? Lotshock.

The act of parking your car, walking away, and then watching it roll past you.

The Friday Bonus Question:

Plucked from the basement of the internet, a bewildering real question that defies logic and an answer, here for you to ponder:

Why does my arm shake and turn bright red when I’m eating dirt?

Ciao :)(:

(I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post by clicking here and scrolling down to the bottom of the page. Feel free to check out my main and third blogs. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks)

Leave a Reply

