Do You Wish You Could Boldly Go Where No One Has Gone Before?

Post 230

Hello, and welcome to the first in a series of questions exploring the questions posed to us in Star Trek. No, just kidding. I think the ’39 Wonders’ series of questions are enough of the series thingamajig for now. To be fair though, I cannot think of anymore Star Trek related questions, anyway. Not that I’ve ever understood that idea. Allow me to explain.

Why do television shows ask us questions? It’s as if it’s an authority that we have all somehow blindly accepted. “Oh, Captain Kirk is stating that we must go boldly, blah, blah. Jessica, darling, I believe this is an interesting debate that we must have. Does one want to go boldly or is a boldly-less life a better one? Your retort?” It’s redonkulous. What gives Captain Kirk the right to start an argument in this household? And it doesn’t stop with him. Oh no. “This show is powerful because it asks the question, ‘What would you have done in that situation?’” I don’t know! What are you asking me for! I’ve just sat down to watch a drama after a hard day at work and you’re asking me flipping philosophical questions! Stop preaching! Get on with the show or I’m going to tune into another channel to watch dogs jump through hoops! Jeez! What is wrong with these people!

I’m not answering this question because of Captain Kirk. I’m answering it for Eugene Roddenberry. A human being! Who posed the question of exploration, and who has bequeathed its endeavours through a type of legacy the world will never experience again. Do I wish to boldly go where no one has gone before? Surely that’s the definition of what being human is. To do the impossible. To dream. To reach for those stars even though they will probably vaporize you. To be all you can be.

Am I part of the legacy Roddenberry left behind? None of us is. It’s something we aspire to. And because I know you like me to end on a funny, for you, I’ll do just that.

Boobs.

The Friday Bonus Question:

Plucked from the basement of the internet, a bewildering real question that defies logic and an answer, here for you to ponder:

Does everybody really have one testicle? I don’t believe my parents anymore.

Ciao :)(:


My main, first and longest running blog, The Indelible Life of Me, was nominated for an award one month ago. I’ve spent a month trying to work out what to do about it. As it turns out, as long as you adhere to the rules through a special post, you’ve won. I’ve just done this now. So there’s a special mid-week post on The Indelible Life of Me. I’ve nominated several other blogs, which confusingly means you’ve won if you do one of those special posts as I did. To read that post, click here. Everything is explained in there. You never know, you may have won something…


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the little bubble on the top right if you are on the Archives Page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
The Ultraness of Chin Lickature and Child Muzzlement

Hark Around The Words
Exceptless/Banquetings


Leave a Reply

