Are You A Wallflower?

Post 248

Strange word, wallflower. It comes from the idea that a shy person during social gatherings clings to the walls of the room. Literally, a flower of the wall. Wall and flower are two words that work surprisingly well together. Yet they’re very different from each other. Mind you, you could do that for any two words. Banjo and duplicator, for example. I don’t know how to make a banjoduplicator, but there we are.

The word wallflower was first recorded in 1820, and it meant ‘a woman who sits by the wall at parties, often for want of a partner’. Thank heavens it doesn’t mean this anymore, because that would mean the question is asking me if I’m a woman. And that’s a whole other ballgame. I’d assume.

Stigma is often attached to wallflowers. It’s as if shyness is a social disease. And it isn’t. A wallflower is a deeply unpopular individual who doesn’t socialize or participate in activities, especially at social events. That’s I in a nutshell. But why am I unpopular? Because I don’t want to talk to anyone? That’s my prerogative, sod off, you bastards. I can do what I like, judge not lest you be judged. It’s a social bewilderment of mine that societal whims have become societal norms. It’s just a fact of life we have to endure.

But think about it. Wall plus flower. What is a flower? A flower symbolizes empathy, caring, sensitivity, something so small and quiet yet so full of life. Something that creates life. A million smells, a million colours, a million varieties. Something we don’t notice but it’s there and respected. Yeah, I’m a wallflower. But there’s more to everyone than meets the eye. And there shouldn’t be any stigma attached to being a wallflower. I’m proud of it and it doesn’t make me any less capable than anyone else.

And to prove that, I’m off to make a banjoduplicator…

The Friday Bonus Question:

Plucked from the basement of the internet, a bewildering real question that defies logic and an answer, here for you to ponder:

I just swallowed a sock. Can anyone help?

Ciao :)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the little bubble on the top right if you are on the Archives Page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
The Daredevil and the Emotional Eye Leakage

Hark Around The Words
Fap/Erinaceous


Leave a Reply

