What If You Were A Member Of The Opposite Gender For A Day?

Post 254

Aww, come on. Wasn’t the hole I dug for myself on the last gender question deep enough? Now we’re back here at the whole issue of gender. Which I’ve always remained adamant is a social construct. Except this question defies that logic. Ooh, what a pickle. What would Spock do? Tell me to use my brain, probably. Well, there’s a first time for everything.

There are preconceived social expectations for each gender. If you have a baby girl, you’d naturally paint her room pink. But why? Is pink a girl’s colour? No. Society says that we must define the genders. A colour is a colour. If you believe it should be defined for the genders, then you’re buying into the social construct. If you don’t, then hello, welcome to my world and the angle I’m looking at this question from.

If I woke up as a woman, one would expect the usual male je te veux howl, usually sexual in nature but occasionally stereotypical nonsense involving kitchens, sponges, and a suspiciously inordinate amount of time in a bathroom with other women. I wouldn’t. I’d spend much of the morning screaming. And then thoughts would turn to, ‘Hang on, who stole my gender?’ I’d then have to start a detective agency to find the culprit in a kitsch noir fashion. I’d have an old-timey office with my name on the door. I don’t know what that would be. Erm. Madam Vivian. What? It’s catchy. I’d then get my gender back, sue the turnip who stole it for millions, and live out the rest of my days in a beach hut in New Caledonia.

The thing is, if you were a woman for a day, you’d be a woman for a day. You’d be yourself. You wouldn’t spend your time fixating on the little things; you’d get on with life. I would. I have to go and pay a cheque into my account. I’ll go to the bank. I fail to see how a pair of boobs is going to stop me from doing that. There are more important things in life than what gender you are. Even if it is for a day.

And with that, Madam Vivian will bid you adieu…

The Friday Bonus Question:

Plucked from the basement of the internet, a bewildering real question that defies logic and an answer, here for you to ponder:

My house is on fire. Should I buy fire insurance now, before it burns completely?

Ciao:)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the little bubble on the top right if you are on the Archives Page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
Latest Post: The Superman Cupholder Dilemma and the Realization It Isn’t a Dilemma

Hark Around The Words
Latest Post: Apishly/Material/Materiel


Leave a Reply

