Do You Talk To Yourself?

Post 266

It feels like that, most days. Sniff, sniff. I suppose all bloggers do so, though. There’s no guarantee anyone is going to read what we write so, in a sense, we all talk to ourselves. We have to read aloud to check our musings. As I’m sure you’ve figured out by now, there is a scientific term for this. Intrapersonal communication. Not very catchy, though. In the olden days it was known as soliloquy. Take your pick.

It’s a very complicated issue, is this. Daydreaming, lucid dreaming, speaking aloud, internal monologue, writing, gestures whilst thinking, sense-making, more gestures, body communication – all of that is what intrapersonal communication is. Of course, one would have assumed madness 100 years ago. One was seen as a possessed individual whereas now it’s seen as a good way to figure out a problem, to understand something, or even to have an argument over an issue. As long as you don’t lose said argument.

Being shy, I do this quite often. It’s a different world we live in. Different set of rules, circumstances and ways of doing things are prevalent. One of the things we lack is friends and communication, and in some circumstances, like mine, a complete absence of companions. And that’s fine. You learn to live like that as happily as the next guy with a million companions. You find a way to make yourself equal. I think soliloquy is a good bridge, a good coping mechanism, a good way to live as normally as everyone else.

If an extrovert has a problem, they seek a committee. I, however, chair a debate in my mind. What other option is there? When I’m writing or reading, I talk aloud. If there’s a situation, I debate it in my head. When somebody was causing trouble on the bus a few years ago, I started an internal monologue to figure out what actions to take. It’s how I function, it’s how I work, it’s how I breathe, it’s how I live. And when I bash my thumb with a hammer, a rather common occurrence around here, I swear and tell myself off.

It’s normal to talk to yourself. Isn’t that right, Ally? Oh wait, he’s gone. That explains a great many things, I must say.

The Friday Bonus Question:

Plucked from the basement of the internet, a bewildering real question that defies logic and an answer, here for you to ponder:

Can vegans watch movies where the characters eat meat?

Ciao :)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the little bubble on the top right if you are on the Archives Page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me

Latest Post: The Melodramatic Cry of a Dying Man with Ruined Toast

Hark Around The Words

Latest Post: Arrivance/Olidous


Leave a Reply

