Do You Have ESP?

Post 274

Well, it depends on what ESP actually stands for. Like with all abbreviations, there are hundreds of things the abbreviation is well known to stand for. ESP is just the same. Exchangeable Sodium Percentage. External Simulation Protocol. Emergency Sprinkler Pump. Extremely Small – moving on.

It’s very hard to tow the line between insulting those who believe in Extrasensory Perception and buying into their quack ridden, fudged up pathetic sorry excuse for a belief. Damn it, failed already. No, I’m kidding, of course. People are entitled to believe whatever they want. It’s easy to criticize something that has no scientific evidence whatsoever to back it up, but neither does the religion I am, and I don’t want people attacking me either. So them’s the rules, okay? Good. Now, here’s why I hate ESP…

ESP is generally regarded at a ‘sixth sense’, which is a lame definition because we all know humankind has at least 10 senses, and most of us have at least 20. It’s hard to define ESP, is my point, which makes it hard to work out if I have it. Doubters of ESP, which you may or may not have worked out by now I am one, are generally considered by believers as being unaware of it. So let’s find a list and go through it. A small sample of what ESP is.

This genuinely just happened. The first one on the list was about knowing a phone is going to ring. I kid you not, halfway through that sentence, it just rang. That happens to me a lot. Reading a word and I hear it. Reading about phones and they ring. I’m not willing to call that ESP. It’s a nuisance, more than anything. It’s inadvertent ESP. Nope. Not counting it. Knowing when someone is lying. Nope. Never been good at that. Predicting a future event? No. I live for the moment. Knowing when someone is going to hurt themselves. Well, that’s a fairly common occurrence in my life, so it’s hardly ESP. Predicting who’ll win an event. I do that a lot. I use mathematics, though, so it’s sorta cheating at ESP. Never try it without maths. Never would consider it. Knowing someone’s feelings without any obvious sign. Nope. I have to ask people. “What emotion are you experiencing? If I had to guess, I’d go for joy”. “My granddad just died”. “Oh,        ”. That happens to me all the time.

So no, I don’t have ESP, and I believe no human has. If you want to believe that, that’s okay with me. You’re still a friend. I hope you think of me as one too, because we all believe in different things. Doesn’t mean we can’t get along.

Do you have ESP, readers?

Toodle-pip :)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the little bubble on the top right if you are on the Archives Page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me

Latest Post: The Multitude of Notes from a One-Note Whisky Railroad

Hark Around The Words

Latest Post: Artlessness/Martinet


Leave a Reply

