Which Is Your Favourite Wonder Of Mexico?

Post 281

My 13th wonders question. There are so many wonders questions these days that I’d assume a question about my favourite non-wonder of the world would be more interesting. Everything is a wonder. And I suppose that’s a good thing. It encourages us to appreciate the world around us. Today it’s Mexico’s turn. Oh yes, the people of Mexico found some time to vote for their favourite seven. The Magnificent Seven. I’m sure they didn’t use that headline in their newspapers. Very cheap reference. I would’ve, though.

Officially called the United Mexican States, Mexico is a hotbed of extremely interesting facts. Mexico City is sinking eight inches per year. Mexico is the largest producer of horsemeat on Earth. Tequila is the national drink. No Mexican receives a gift on Christmas Day (including children). They do it in January. The Aztecs offered hot chocolate to a man they thought was a God. And speaking of chocolate, the Mexicans introduced that into the world, along with corn and chilli, the chilli dipped chocolate-coated corn on a stick. And in the old days, during battle, they patented the ‘hornet bomb’. Sounds spectacular. Actually, it was simply the practice of throwing a hornet’s nest at your enemies. Simple and effective.

Onto picking my favourite wonder. As you all know by now, I hate canyons. Just a hole in the Earth. A geographical nuisance. So I’m ruling out Copper Canyon. I’m sure Tenochtitlan was wonderful back in its day, but considering it’s now completely ruined, I don’t see the point in picking it. This also makes my job considerably easier because there are so many ruined cities on this list that I can effectively narrow the list down to just two. So, out goes El Tajín, Palenque and Teotihuacan. They’re all very lovely, but it’s impossible to pick one. Leaving me with the difficult task of ruling out Chichen Itza. Oh come on, it’s touristy. Hundreds of people there. Flogging you various wears. It befalls all pyramids.

So I’ll go for the Chapultepec Castle. It’s a beautiful castle situated in the middle of an equally beautiful park. The castle is a wonderful piece of architecture, extremely decorative and well maintained. It has a simply stunning interior rich in ornate decoration. Its rich green surroundings enhance the majesty of the building. It’s an incredible setting for an incredible building.

Chapultepec Castle. My favourite wonder of Mexico.

The Friday Bonus Question:

Plucked from the basement of the internet, a bewildering real question that defies logic and an answer, here for you to ponder:

If you don’t pay your exorcist, are you repossessed?

Ciao :)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the little bubble on the top right if you are on the Archives Page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me

Latest Post: The Mighty War Cry of a Feeble Peasant

Hark Around The Words

Latest Post: Ascetic/Onanism


Leave a Reply

