What Is Your Favourite Sausage?

Post 316

Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy! Yea! I’ve waited 316 posts to reach the tip of the mountain of, erm, questions, I suppose. Sausages! Ah. I love sausages. Sausages are proof of a higher being. You know, unless you’re a vegetarian. Or of a religion that doesn’t eat sausages. But apart from the religious and the hippies, sausages are sublime. Honestly, if I cared at all about leaving a legacy behind on Earth, I would invent my own sausage. Seriously. I’d call it, ‘You’ll Never Find My Treasure’, and people would wonder who’s treasure and where the treasure is. Shortly before death, I’d leave several clues and they would lead to a box containing a scroll and on that scroll, it would read, ‘Ha, ha, ha…’

There’s diots. Droëwors. Sujuk. Black pudding. Red pudding. Hog’s pudding. White pudding. Boerewors. Kulen. Boudin. Liverwust. Loukaniko. Cervelat. Hot dog. Corn dog. Rookworst. Isterband. Saucisson. Linguiça. Merguez. Embutido. Sundae. Chả lụa. Currywurst. Saveloy. Battered sausage. Fläskkorv. Gelbwust. Falukorv. Sai ua. Prasky. Prinskorv. Sausage roll. Kielbasa. Som moo. Lukanka. Mustamakkara. Ryynimakkara. Siskonmakkara. Chipolata. Knackwurst. Baloney. MILLIONS OF THEM!

For me, there’s only one. The Cumberland Sausage. Oh, jeez. Mmm, ooh, so, so delicious. Thick, chunky meat, ridiculously long and spiralled around in a mouth-wateringly delectable orgasm of chewing delight. Rich in taste, flavour, shape, texture – oh, I could lick it. Nearly two feet long, it’s as close to heaven as a human get outside of a Flatliners parody.

The Cumberland Sausage. The God of Meat.

Toodle-pip :)(:


Photo: The Cumberland Sausage


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the little bubble on the top right if you are on the Archives Page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
New Post Every Sunday
Click Here To Read The Latest Post

Hark Around the Words
New Posts Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday
Click Here To Read The Latest Post


7 thoughts on “What Is Your Favourite Sausage?

  1. night owl

    A true sausage fest – in the literal sense of the word.

    I had NO idea there was such an abundance of world wide charcuterie. Since there are way too many to mention, I won’t fault you for leaving out my favorite Mexican chorizo. When hung to drain and dry out, it is called ‘longanizo’, a word you would probably only hear while in Mexico, since mostly chorizo is eaten up too quickly to be allowed to hang around and dessicate. It is just THAT delicious.

    I have a funny story about cervelat. A girlfriend and I were traveling in France. Our train arrived late in the afternoon in Mulhouse, too late for a proper French lunch, too early for supper. We ended up at a restaurant that was out of bread, out of hot entrees, but could make us salads. I ordered a ‘four seasons’ salad that was quite good – fresh vegetables, fruit, and potatoes. She ordered a salad which listed ‘cervelat’ as one of the ingredients. She got a bowl of sliced sausage.

    We still laugh about the sausage salad.

    Reply
    1. theindeliblelifeofme Post author

      Charcuterie? Ooh, I learnt a new word. Get you. You’re practically a foodie.

      I actually, like with all this type of question, just looked it up on Wikipedia. I Wikipediad the hell out of sausages. The ones I listed are the only ones I found. I may have missed it, but if not, somebody should complain to their staff of… six.

      Jeez… dessicate. Yup. Definitely a foodie.

      If I attended a restaurant that was out of anything, I’d just leave. But I must commend you for staying and sticking with the, erm, delicious sounding salad. I have a top tip for when you are abroad in a strange country. Don’t put anything you don’t understand in your mouth.

      And France is a very strange country.

      I visited once and I didn’t eat anything for the entire trip.

      Reply
      1. night owl

        I was once served cow tendon in a bowl of soup in a market in Mexico. I asked my then boyfriend, later husband, why they put a piece of rubbery inedible (expletive deleted) in my soup. He said that the cook was trying to impress, me being the obvious Yankee tourist. Apparently, cow tendon is a delicacy in Mexico!

        I loved everything I ate in France. I hope you weren’t in France for too long and got too hungry. It would be a handy way to diet, though. “Oh, I need to drop half a stone. I’ll go spend two weeks in France.”

        About Wikipedia, the reason their staff is so small is because they make it so damn hard to edit a page. They expect you to KNOW things about Wiki-editing! Such high standards! Who would want to work there?

        I’m not quite a foodie. I do, however, appreciate really good food, the kind that makes me close my eyes and make pleasure sounds. You know – food-gasms.

      2. theindeliblelifeofme Post author

        I was only in France for a few hours. Just a train ride under the sea. A school trip. Unfortunately, I got lost. So I was there for a few hours longer. Tragically, nobody noticed I was missing. I was very lucky to stumble upon the coach. Don’t know how I managed that. For a while, I was lost along with someone else, but then I lost that person. I was worried. The last thing she said was, “Oh no, I’m gonna have to eat snails”. I wonder what happened to her…

        I bet you’re glad it was only a cow ‘tendon’. Horse wang is notoriously hard to handle.

        Oh, pardon the puns.

      3. night owl

        I got lost in France, too! Got off the coach to go in La Poste to mail back a package to the States. When I came out, the coach was gone and my fellow travelers were gone.

        I decided that a spirit of adventure was called for and went off exploring, found a restored Ancient Roman ampitheatre, ate a lovely meal, learned how NOT to order a glass of water in France, and eventually found my compatriots again.

        Perhaps your ‘someone else’ ate the snails and loved them, decided upon abandoning the Motherland, and then pledging fealty ever after to the Republique.

        I know NOTHING about horse wang.

Leave a Reply

