What Hand Are You?

Post 414

Handedness. No, not the state of one’s hand after one has fallen asleep on said hand resulting in a dead hand, it’s the individual preference for using one hand over the other. There are four types. An incredible 90% of the world is right-handed. 10% are left-handed. Of the two combined, around 30% are mixed-handed with a preference to one hand or the other. And, although extremely rare, in less than just five percent of the world’s population, we have ambidexterity, capable of doing any task equally as well with both hands. Although it is a myth that left-handed people live shorter lives than righties, they actually live longer, it is true that lefties are, on average, slightly more intelligent and are on the increase. And, as part of the fight against left discrimination, which is a real thing, there is International Left-Handers Day. What? It’s impossible to open a tin of beans with a store bought tin opener. That’s discrimination. It’s ridiculous. Yes, I am left-handed. And damn proud.

Famous lefties include Albert Einstein, Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Benjamin Franklin and Barack Obama. Famous righties include Heinrich Himmler, Adolf Hitler, Joseph Stalin, Richard Nixon and the Devil. The world is built by right-handed people for right-handed people, so being right-handed is of a great advantage. But, being left-handed is of a great advantage in most sports as the most successful sportspeople have been left-handed. 20% of all Mensa members are left-handed, impressive when we only make up 10% of the world’s population. Generally believed to be because we have to use our brains more to get by in the world. And there’s more. Left-handed people are better at seeing underwater because that part of the brain is larger in lefties. We are quicker thinkers and better at multitasking, and far more capable than righties at dealing with large streams of information. This also means we are best at video games. We are also quicker healers, with left-handed stroke victims recovering twice as fast as our opposites. And we are artistic. Great lefty artists include Leonardo, Michelangelo, Raphael and Rembrandt.

The part of the brain that deals with day-to-day stuff is the left hand side, but if you’re right-handed, that side is bigger, and vice versa. But because left-handed people need to do day-to-day stuff, both halves of our brains are equally as good. Whereas with right-handed people, one half is far superior. So we are more likely to be mixed-handed, and indeed, I am such. Whilst I am naturally left-handed with writing, I’m naturally right-handed with a guitar. But I’m naturally left-handed with a snooker cue. I am left-handed with tablets and laptop mice, but right-handed with desktop computer mice. In a similar way, I’m left-handed when buttering with a knife but right-handed when using a fork for meals. I eat yoghurt with a spoon in my left hand but I eat pasta with a spoon in my right hand. I use scissors with my right hand, can’t use them with the left. But I can’t use kitchen stuff such as tin openers with my right hand. I hold glasses and cups with my left hand, and also shave with that hand, and tend to do more manual things with that hand.

I will always call myself left-handed and will always hate the huge discrimination we face every day, but I certainly use both. But if asked to choose, I’d go for left. Yes, I’m a lefty all the way…

What hand are you, readers?

Toodle-pip :)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the title on the top of this post if you are on the archives page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
New Post Every Sunday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post

Hark Around the Words
New Posts Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post


Leave a Reply

