Do You Like Socks with Sandals?

Post 563

We all have an opinion of this. It’s either the worst fashion faux pas you can make or it’s a stylish and understated fashion choice. Very few people seem to agree with the latter. British retailer Debenhams did a survey in 2013 of the worst fashion faux pas and socks and sandals came in at number one. Scrunchies came in at 10. Low slung trousers at three. Harems at five. What the hell are harems? Oh, hang on, wait a minute – velour tracksuits at four. Only fourth? Platforms for men came in at two. Do men still wear platforms? I thought disco was dead, but apparently not…

One commenter of this survey argued that whilst it’s understandable that people wear what they want and don’t care about fashion, there comes a point when you have to accept the fact that wearing something in public purely because it’s ‘comfortable’ will attract the odd snigger. ‘I find it comfortable watching TV in my pants,’ he continued, ‘but I wouldn’t go down to the supermarket in the same attire.’

Some argue that if you do not wear socks and sandals in public because you find it ‘embarrassing’, then you have little confidence and low self-esteem. Nope. I’m not having that. None of that could be further from the truth. Certain things are going to attract negative comments. And yes, one could say that it shouldn’t matter, and that you shouldn’t care what others think. But you can’t deny that almost every single person looking at you and your socks and sandals will think you’re an idiot. And that is wrong, of course it is. But choosing not to wear them is not a sign of little confidence and low self-esteem. It’s the self-preservation of one’s dignity and good judgment. The answer to an overly judgmental society that will, sadly, never ever change. There is no point in rebelling. You’ll stand out and everyone will know that. That you’re trying to stand out. But people won’t think highly of you because you’ll look out of place. Thus making you look foolish. Life shouldn’t be this way but it is. That’s life.

Nobody is saying socks and sandals are ‘wrong’. After all, the Romans were wearing socks and sandals over 2,000 years ago. But there are lots of things you can’t do without society judging you. You can’t walk down the street with a massive pink Mohican without people staring at you. You can’t walk down the street completely naked without people staring at you. And you can’t wear socks and sandals without people staring at you. So why rebel when all you’ll get in return is a chastising of epic proportions?

As a shy person, I do all I can to blend into the crowd because I do not want to stand out, so I avoid things that I know would get me evil stares. I would never consider wearing socks and sandals in public in the UK, and I think most people here wouldn’t. And I don’t go to beaches, before you ask. And I rarely go on holiday and when I do, I wear trainers or barefooted flip-flops. But I rarely go away, as I said.

I don’t have anything against those who choose to wear socks and sandals; you’re braver people than I. Because I do not wear socks and sandals because I know that most of society will consider me a complete and utter tool for doing so.

But do you wear socks and sandals, readers?

Ciao :)(:


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
New Post Every Sunday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post

Hark Around the Words
New Posts Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post


Leave a Reply

