What Would You Do If You Meet Your Future Self?

Post 609

The Pauli Exclusion Principle. It claims that no two identical particles can occupy the same space at the same time. We can’t prove this, of course, but what would happen if two versions of the same person did meet? Some experts think they would get slightly sweaty palms, whereas others think the entire universe would go kaboom. John Titor, a time traveller, claims to have met his former self. Thus proving that two versions of the same person meeting from different points in time actually results in total insanity…

The case of Titor is an interesting one. He first appeared on an internet forum back in 2001. He claims he was a time traveller from 2036, a soldier from a post World War Three America. He described America as ‘descending into a second civil war’ and splitting into five regions, leading to the aforementioned brief yet devastating nuclear war. That he said would happen in 2015. But should we be worried? In 2001, Titor posted a claim online that the winner of the 2004 presidential election would be a ‘modern day Abraham Lincoln’. No, you shouldn’t worry.

But there is a serious point to be made here. Titor could have been an ‘ultra-conservative’ with the most warped opinion on Captain Doolally. Or Bush to use his real name. Okay, none of Titor’s predictions, so far, has come true. But if someone did come from the future, who would believe that person? Nobody, that’s who. So you can’t conclusively say that nobody is here from the future. Nobody ever believes those who claim to be time travellers. But one could be telling the truth. Might even be someone in your very home…

It would be disorientating to meet your future self. The first thing you’d have to do is establish that it was you from the future. A wonderful quirk of time travel is that it is possible to establish the facts rather quickly. For example, I could write something on a piece of paper and bury it in a box somewhere. And I would not tell a living soul for the rest of my life where that box was. If my future self could take me to it, he’s me. He’ll know everything I know. So if I say to him, “You remember this moment, meeting your former self.” “Yes.” “What am I thinking?” “Bacon. That’s all you ever think about.” And he’d be correct. These tricks would prove, beyond doubt, that the me in front of me was me from the future.

But I couldn’t ask him about my future, could I? Knowing my future would ensure that I act differently. “Ah, there was this one day when you did this thing and it led to this other thing.” “Oh, great – I’m not going to do it, now.” “But that thing led you to become a time traveller. It’s a pretty cool life.” “Yes, but if I don’t do it, which I’m now not going to, then you, or me, whatever, would not travel back in time to tell me that thing, so therefore, how could I have not done that thing?” You see! Makes you think a bit about what free will really is. Time travel creates paradox after paradox.

So I wouldn’t want to know anything about the future. I don’t want to know bad news or the lottery numbers. I don’t play it anyway. I’d want as little interference as possible. It’s the only way to preserve the timeline. And to ensure that what is going to happen will always have happened. In fact, I don’t think two versions or more of the same person could even exist at the same time in the same dimension. But I guess we’ll never really know.

I would avoid my future self. I can’t be doing with the headache, to be honest…

But what would you do if you meet your future self, readers?

Ciao :)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the title on the top of this post if you are on the ‘Archives’ page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
New Post Every Saturday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post

Hark Around the Words
New Posts Every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post


Leave a Reply

