Where Have All the Good Men Gone?

Post 635

Holding Out for a Hero 1Bonnie Tyler. Wales’ answer to the Dalai Lama. She is Wales in a person. Strong, independent, warm-hearted, funny and a bit cheeky. Bonnie Tyler, born in 1951, is a Welsh singer, famous for a raft of hits including her 1984 hit ‘Holding Out for a Hero’. It’s safe to say this is one of the greatest songs ever written. Admittedly, it’s a shame it was used in the shit film ‘Footloose’, but you can’t have everything…

Jim Steinman wrote this song for the film and the gorgeous Tyler recorded it, but she very much made it her own. This song is legendary. No cover can get anywhere near the brilliance of the original. It’s one of the few things that makes me get my ‘80s dance on. It has been adopted as a LGBT anthem, but it was never intended to be so. So what was the original intention?

‘Where have all the good men gone? Where’s the street-wise Hercules? Isn’t there a white knight upon a fiery steed?’ Phwoar, Bonnie Tyler singing that. Have you any idea what that did to boys in the ‘80s? And today, in the ‘10s. Hey, who doesn’t have a crush on her?

‘I need a hero, I’m holding out for a hero ‘til the end of the night. He’s gotta be strong, he’s gotta be fast and he’s gotta be fresh from the fight.’ What fight, I wonder. In the music video for the song, Bonnie is on a bed in a cottage. There is a group of men outside fighting to get in. In fact, now I think about it, a few of them did get in. Lucky buggers…

‘And he’s gotta be larger than life. Racing on the thunder and rising with the heat. It’s gonna take a Superman.’ I wish I were all these things. I’m not a Superman. I’m not fast. I’m not larger than life. I’m not any kind of Hercules, never mind a street-wise one. And I don’t even know what a fiery steed is. I’m guessing it’s a type of horse. I don’t like horses. They keep looking at me funny.

What this song is about is a woman struggling to find the right man. Nothing more. She’s waiting for that hero, and that’s a message surely as relevant now as it was in 1984. But am I holding out for a hero? Nope, not really. I don’t think there’s a woman alive who couldn’t do better than me. After all, what woman would be interested in a 25-year-old straight white man who occasionally dances to Bonnie Tyler hits?

But that’s not the point, readers. The point is actually a much simpler one. To never forget this song. To listen to it. To enjoy it. To pass it down the generations, to make sure it’s still around for many years to come.

I think that’s the least Bonnie deserves…

Ciao :)(:


Image
1) A photo of Bonnie Tyler in the 1980s, because… well, erm, well – why not? (credit: ochenteras.com)


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the title on the top of this post if you are on the ‘Archives’ page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
New Post Every Saturday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post

Hark Around the Words
New Post Every Sunday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post


Leave a Reply

