What Are Your Thoughts on Kissing?

Post 655

Kissing. That thing I’ve never done but now have to write about. Sigh. Kissing. When one presses one’s lips against those of another person or object. Like the new car. Or that trophy I won once. You know, it was shaped like a cup and it said ‘World’s Best Son’ on the side. What? Don’t tell me that wasn’t – no, stop. Really? No! It was real! It was real, I tells ya! Oh. So I’m nothing special, then? Oh. Hmm. Well, that’s fine – I’m fine. I’m fine with that. No, really. Don’t – don’t worry about – about, me. Excuse me for a moment, I need a tissue…

We kiss for a variety of reasons. Affection. Friendship. Greetings. Good luck. Love. Passion. Peace. Respect. Sexual activity. Sexual arousal. Sexual attraction. And some more. Maybe. I don’t know. Some science blokes think we evolved to kiss one another from the same reason birds do it. To feed their young (yuck). Others think it’s purely instinct. I hope it’s the second one. Oh God, please be the second one.

Kissing is, actually, a fairly recent human development and is most seen in the west. Kissing in eastern cultures is not common at all. However, in the west, it’s the start of something, perhaps something that leads to a more romantic kiss, a type of kiss Kristoffer Nyrop once described as a ‘exultant message of the longing of love, love eternally young, the burning prayer of hot desire, which is born on the lovers’ lips and rises’ – oh, I’ve had enough of that. What a tool…

Kissing can be affectionate. Ritualistic. Religious. Peaceful. Respectful. And friendly. Yet 10% of the world’s population do not kiss for they see it as ‘unsanitary’ or for superstitious reasons. In parts of Sudan, it’s believed the mouth is the portal to the soul, therefore, a kiss invites others to ‘take their spirit’. Many cultures see kissing as improper. In 2007, two people were fined and jailed in Dubai for a month after being spotted hugging and kissing.

Despite all this, kissing is hugely beneficial. It reduces stress and lowers cholesterol. It also causes the adrenal glands to secrete epinephrine and norepinephrine into one’s blood, causing a rush of adrenaline, which is good for the heart. Regular kissing even increases one’s life expectancy.

The world record for the longest kiss was between Ekkachai and Laksana Tiranarat of Thailand. These champion smoochers kissed for 58 hours and 36 minutes. I wonder if they got a bathroom break. But even the average person kisses a lot. We spend over two weeks of our lifetimes kissing. Two thirds of people tip their heads to the right when they kiss. And the French love to kiss. In 1910, kissing was banned on trains in France because commuters’ kissing was causing serious delays.

Only in France…

Yes, kissing. My thoughts on it? Seems pretty swell. And maybe one day I’ll find out for myself. You know, on the day when I turn from an ugly duckling into a beautiful swan.

Sniff. If that ever happens…

Ciao :)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the title on the top of this post if you are on the ‘Archives’ page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
New Post Every Saturday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post

Hark Around the Words
New Post Every Sunday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post


Leave a Reply

