Would You Join the Circus?

Post 482

Ah, the circus. A big red and white striped tent in the middle of a field on the outskirts of town, with an old-timey fella in a top hat and tails regaling an eager audience with stories of exotic animals from strange foreign lands. Stare in wonder as an elephant balances on a ball and a vicious lion roars only inches away from your face. Plus, watch jugglers wiggle their bottoms as they juggle any number of things. All with ‘Entry of the Gladiators’ blasting from a live band (seriously, Google it – you’ll love it). And there are clowns, too! With red costumes with white polka dots, firing pies and tripping over conveniently placed gubbins. Oh, and the ringmaster – what a performer! With his cane, boots, and twirly moustache. Speaking in a very posh old-fashioned English accent. Ah, those were the days. That’s a circus that would’ve been fun to be a part of. But sadly, those days are long, long gone. Bloody animal rights activists…

Of course, I’m kidding. Animals should be free. And in any case, why would you sit inches away from a roaring lion? You have to bear in mind, many wild animal circuses on Earth horribly mistreat their animals – they beat them and cage them. That lion inches away from your face probably hates humans. So there’s a tip. Going to a wild animal circus? Erm, might be best to give it a miss…

The animals used vary from big cats, to elephants, horses, birds, sea lions, bears and other domestic and wild animals. In 2012, the Dutch government banned the use of wild circus animals, and the UK will do the same in 2015. Their use is still perfectly legal in America. But 31 other countries have now banned their use. In 10, 20 years time, it’ll be global. Which is a good thing. But what has that left us with? What is a modern circus?

Well, it hasn’t changed too much. It’s a group of performers often including clowns, acrobats, domestic animals, trapeze acts, musicians, tightrope walkers, jugglers, unicyclists, aerial acts and stunt acts. There’s often music, too. There are also daredevil acts such as the human cannonball, Chapeaugraphy, fire eating, breathing and dancing, knife throwing, magic shows, sword swallowing and strongman.

I’ve never been to a circus. I’ve never come across a circus, actually, I always associate them with America. I’m sure we have them in the UK but I certainly don’t think they’re that common or I would’ve encountered one somewhere on my travels. It’s not my kind of thing, but I respect the performers because it’s not an easy job. The classic image of the old circus tent may be gone, pretty much, but its spirit lives on. The idea of running away and joining the circus is something many of us have dreamed of doing. That old timey image we all have of them has a unique charm. But as I said, it’s gone. So is there any appeal to an older me for the ‘new’ circus?

I’ve never been good with heights and all animals seem to hate me. I also really can’t stand clowns. I’m not a musician. I have no sense of balance. Human cannonball would hurt. I’m not eating fire – I don’t understand why one would even try to do that. I can’t ride a bike so I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to ride a unicycle. And last time I threw a knife, it didn’t end well. But don’t try that at home, kids. Remember – it didn’t end well. It didn’t end well at all…

So no, I wouldn’t join the circus. It’s not ‘me’. But I do respect the performers greatly.

But what about you, readers? Would you join the circus?

Ciao :)(:


I’d love to hear your thoughts on this post. You can leave a comment and/or like this post below, or by clicking the title on the top of this post if you are on the archives page. Likes and follows greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Please feel free check out the latest posts from my other two blogs:

The Indelible Life of Me
New Post Every Sunday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post

Hark Around the Words
New Posts Every Monday, Wednesday and Friday
Click Here to Read the Latest Post


Leave a comment

I’m Ally.

Welcome! This is To Contrive & Jive,  a place where I ponder random questions and baffling mysteries. Come with me as we mull over the universe and learn that nothing is quite what it seems.


Don’t Miss a Post!


Archives


Stats

  • 12 Years, 6 Months Old
  • 562 Followers
  • 129,988 Views
  • 1,928 Posts
  • New Posts Sun, Tue & Thu (breaks May 9th, 21st & 30th)

The Indelible Life of Me

Click here to visit my first blog all about the colourful tedium of nothingness!


Stories of Her

Click here to visit my third blog all about great women!


Search


Latest Comments

  1. why did batman and the grand jury judge need to put supes in the phantom zone at alk? I thought…

Web Analytics Made Easy - Statcounter